How firm is thy foundation?

When you build a house, what is the house built on? A foundation. Depending on the foundation, is how steady or unsteady the house will be. When we were all babies, we looked to our parents too give us what we needed. Love, care, attention THEY were and still are our foundation.

I realize what I’m about to say will step on toes. But I’ve been thinking a lot on this subject lately. God’s laid it on my heart for the past few days, even weeks. I’ve just been quiet about it.

I don’t understand people. I don’t understand their concepts of what they do. Your children look up to you. They look to YOU for advice, for a stable life, for something they can hold on too. That’s what they need. And especially teenagers.

We look around at teens and even younger and wonder what their problem is. If your parents don’t love you, and they leave you or worse, no wonder you don’t know what to do. We want to blame music, because it puts ideas in their minds, we want to blame social media, because phones have taken over their minds. We lash out at that because that’s easy.

What’s not easy is admitting that we are part of the problem and instead of trying to fix it we ignore it and hope it’ll go away.

As a teen, I remember I was very impressionable. Instead of focusing on God and improving myself, I was focusing on what others said and thought about me. This often gives bullies the power to manipulate minds and have others thinking they aren’t good enough, resulting in cutting, other attempts at hurting themselves or worse suicide.

The day we open our eyes to see that the kids who are (what we like to say, troubled) and they refer to themselves as, misunderstood, are the ones who just want love. They just want someone to say, “I’m proud of you,” “I love you,” “You’re doing a great job,” etc.

Instead of judging and hurting, start listening and helping.

Leave a Reply

